Skip to main content

2009 Abel Prize goes to Mikhael Gromov

Publié le March 30, 2009
Congratulations from Nicolas Sarkozy, President of the Republic, to the French mathematician Mikhael Gromov who has just received the 2009 Abel Prize.
Paris, March 26 2009

President Sarkozy very warmly congratulates M. Mikhael Gromov, who has just received the 2009 Abel Prize. In honouring him, this distinction also pays tribute to the Ecole mathématique française’s great tradition of excellence and once again underlines the high quality of French fundamental research.

A mathematician of Russian origin, M. Gromov has been Permanent Professor at the Institut des hautes études scientifiques in Bures-sur-Yvette since 1982, he has been a French citizen since 1992.

The Abel Prize was created in 2002 to have the same standing as a “Nobel Prize in Mathematics”. It has already been awarded twice to French mathematicians, Jean-Pierre Serre in 2003 and Jacques Tits en 2008./.

      top of the page